Mexican Tomato Colored Rice

As I had mentioned in my earlier post, I would be sharing a recipe from the Authentic Mexican Recipe Book I had won. So, here I am. 🙂 It took a while for me to pick one, out of so many delicious recipes. I realized I didn’t have any rice based dishes on my blog. I turned to the rice section of the book and picked out this lovely tomato rice recipe.

The rice is bursting with different flavors. You will get to taste the tanginess from the tomatoes with a hint of chili. In addition to that onion, ginger and garlic form the basis of the dish. You can add your choice of vegetables. I did not follow the exact recipe form the book. Although, I have attached the original recipe from the book towards the end.

This is what you will need:-

MEXICAN TOMATO COLORED RICE

  • Servings: 4-5
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cup uncooked rice (I used basmati here)
  • 1 medium-sized onion cut in julienne
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped garlic
  • 1 finely chopped green chili
  • 1 tsp finely chopped ginger
  • 2 medium-sized tomatoes
  • ½ cup cottage cheese cut in small cubes
  • ½ cup green peas
  • A few sprigs of coriander
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • Salt to taste

DSCN3776

Directions


Step I – Wash rice thoroughly and soak for 10-15 minutes

Step II – Meanwhile, prepare your ingredients. Make a cross on the base of the tomatoes (It helps in easy peeling). Blanch in boiling water for 5 minutes. Do not throw the water. We will be using it to cook the rice. You will notice how easy it is to peel. Form into a puree with the help of a mixer grinder.

Rice

Step III- Preparation of rice. Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add garlic, green chili and ginger. Sauté until they release its aroma. Add onions and sauté for a few seconds. Add in your soaked rice after draining the water. Give it a quick mix and cover the lid for 15-20 minutes on a low flame, stirring occasionally.

DSCN3784
DSCN3789
DSCN3794

Add in the tomato puree, give it a mix and let it stay for a minute. Next, 3 cups water and 1 tsp salt to the rice. Mix and cover the lid for 7-8 minutes.

DSCN3799
DSCN3801

Add in your desired vegetables. I chose to add green peas and cottage cheese. You can add carrot, corn, green beans, etc. Mix well. Give it a taste. Add more salt or water if required and see if they’re cooked to your liking and serve.

DSCN3809

They taste delicious on their own. You can have it with curd, ketchup or any side dish you like.

Note: This is the recipe from the book

Desktop

Enjoy 🙂

One thought on “Mexican Tomato Colored Rice

Leave a comment