Lemony Ginger Soupy Noodles

In the past one year, I seem to have developed a rare fondness for South Korean dramas/films. It all started after a friend gave me this long list of K-dramas to watch. Just randomly, I picked out Boys over Flowers not knowing how famous this show already was. Since then, even after I finished with my friend’s list, I continued to create my own list of favorites. I recently watched Let’s Eat. It is highly recommended for a food lover. The food scenes on the show will urge you to rush to your kitchen and get something to eat for yourself. :p (Not joking)! Now, I am also keen on knowing more about Korean Cuisine. This dish is inspired from all the different kinds of food stuffs that I have seen on South Korean Films/Dramas. 😉

Noodles are my ultimate weakness. I am ever ready to make room for noodles in my tummy. I have made this recipe once before but hadn’t clicked any pictures so, I could not post it. I was too hungry and a tad lazy. 😉 Most of the time, my laziness tends to get in the way! Anyhow, it was really delicious and wanted to share it on my blog. Therefore, I decided to make it again. 🙂

DSCN3515

This is what you will need:-

Ingredients (Serves 3 super hungry people :p )

3 packets Instant Noodles

1 bowl button mushrooms

1 tbsp chopped ginger

4-5 cloves garlic

1 red onion cut in julienne

1 finely chopped green chili

1 lemon

100 gm cottage cheese/paneer cut in thin cubes (Can use Tofu if available)

Soy Sauce

Chili Sauce

1 tsp Sugar

1 tsp oil

Salt to taste

A few sprigs of coriander

DSCN3463

Method

  • In a non-stick pan, brown cottage cheese on both sides on a medium flame. Season with salt. Add a dash of soy sauce and coat evenly. Keep aside.

DSCN3467

DSCN3468

  • In the same pan, heat oil. Sauté green chili and garlic. Add ginger and sauté until it releases its aroma.

DSCN3472

  • Add onions and sauté until translucent. Add a pinch of salt to quicken the process.

DSCN3478

  • Next, add mushrooms, 1 tbsp soy sauce (add more if you like-keep a check on the salt), sugar and chili sauce (according to your taste). Cook until mushrooms begin to lose their moisture. Pour ½ litre water. Bring to a boil, add cottage cheese; cover the pan and let it simmer for 5 minutes. Add coriander.

DSCN3480

DSCN3482

  • Meanwhile, add lemon juice, 1-2 tsp soya sauce, and a dash of salt to around 3 cups of boiling water for the noodles. They will soak in the entire flavor preventing them from being bland.

DSCN3485

Now, either you can add the broth to the noodles in your bowl, or you can combine the noodles with the broth beforehand and serve. I preferred the latter.

DSCN3513

Happy Slurping! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lemony Ginger Soupy Noodles

  1. Muh mein paani ah gaya!! Damn, this reminds me of ‘Shiksha blog’ in ‘Let’s Eat’. Simply loved the show because of the amazing food-scenes and after seeing your food-pictures I can’t help but ‘slurp’! 😛 I love noodles and I love to eat it even more with a pair of chopsticks – mostly because it makes me closer to my favourite Koreans (the entire South Korea, esp. Lee Min Ho :P)! Haha! I think here you have used ‘Curry Noodles’ na? I love it and also ‘Wai Wai’ and all the Korean cup-noodles that we get in the market.

    Anyway, what I love about your blog is how you provide pictures with every step (and I guess I have mentioned that before too ), and I see you have made some layout changes in your blog – they look cute!

    Itna cook kar rahiho, toh kabhi khila bhi dena – ya sirf dikha dikha ke tempt karne ka irada hai? 😛

    P.S: Now give me a list of the K-dramas and movies I should watch. 🙂

    Happy Cooking – Clicking – Writing – Eating! 🙂

    • Thank you for your sweet reply! Yes, I have used Curry Noodles!! I am surprised you could make it out! True sign of a noodle lover!! 😉 I will be more than happy to cook for you. I hope that day comes soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

